O’Brien County Fireworks Information


The July 4th holiday will be here soon.  We have collected information from the towns in the county and have listed their ordinances pertaining to fire works.  We have also included a copy of the Iowa State law that details what is permitted in areas not covered by a city ordinance and provided a copy of the description of what is considered Consumer Fireworks.  The O’Brien County Sheriff’s Office will strictly enforce the fireworks law within the county this holiday season.  Fireworks are only allowed at specific times on specific days.  Please read the ordinances and see what rules apply to your situation.  If you have any questions contact your local law enforcement agency.  Take a few minutes and review the following safety tips and have a safe and happy 4th of July.  Sheriff Allen Schuknecht

State of Iowa Code 727.2 Fireworks   

Iowa Code 100.19 Consumer Fireworks

City of Archer

City of Calumet – no City Ordinance – Follow State law.

City of Hartley

City of Paullina

City of Primghar

City of Sanborn

City of Sheldon

City of Sutherland